Contact Us



The California Wellness Foundation is proud to honor its 2006 Champions of Health Professions Diversity Award recipients. Each will receive a $25,000 grant acknowledging his or her commitment to increasing diversity in the health professions.

José A. Arévalo, MD — Sacramento
An ardent advocate for diversity in health professions, Dr. José A. Arévalo has founded many programs designed to recruit, retain and support Latino doctors and health professionals. Currently medical director for Sutter Independent Physicians in the Sacramento region, Arévalo is a board-certified family physician who has practiced medicine in a variety of settings, including several community clinics.

Rolland C. Lowe, MD — San Francisco
Dr. Rolland C. Lowe is dedicated to encouraging physicians to work within their communities to become advocates for patients. In his own Chinatown-based private practice in San Francisco, Lowe provides high-quality health care to low-income residents and mentors young doctors. He also promotes cultural competency and workforce diversity through public health policy, planning and advocacy both within organized medicine and through his foundation work.

Patricia Pratt — Los Angeles
For more than 25 years, Patricia Pratt has worked with students in programs to increase the number of minority physicians. She is currently the director of academic enrichment and outreach at the David Geffen School of Medicine at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). She previously directed UCLA’s federally funded Health Career Opportunity Program, during which time she institutionalized its services and personnel.

Our Mission

To protect and improve the health and wellness of the people of California by increasing access to health care, quality education, good jobs, healthy environments and safe neighborhoods.

The California Wellness Foundation • City National Plaza, 515 S. Flower Street, Suite 1100 • Los Angeles, CA, 90071 • Tel: (818)­ 702–1900

© 2018 The California Wellness Foundation. All Rights Reserved. Credits